

SOUTH EASTERN SPECIAL EDUCATION

Serving Clay, Crawford, Jasper, Lawrence, and Richland Counties
Kim Kessler, Director

SESE EXECUTIVE BOARD MEETING Wednesday, September 15, 2021 SESE Central Office Ste. Marie, IL

TENTATIVE MINUTES

The September meeting of the South Eastern Special Education Executive Board was held Wednesday, September 15, 2021 at 9:30 a.m., at the SESE Central Office in Ste. Marie, IL. Jeff Patchett, Chairperson for the SESE Executive Board, called the meeting to order at 9:44 a.m.

Members present: Andy Johnson, Josh Quick, Jakie Walker, Cathy Croy, Travis Wyatt, Joel Hackney, and Chair Jeff Patchett.

Members absent: Chris Simpson, Julie Kraemer, Jessica Sisil, and Doug Daugherty.

The agenda was presented for review. Hackney moved, seconded by Wyatt to approve the agenda. Roll call vote was taken with all present voting yea. Motion carried.

The consent agenda was presented for review. Johnson moved, seconded by Walker to approve the consent agenda. Roll call vote was taken with all present voting yea. Motion carried.

Wyatt moved, seconded by Quick to approve the the First Reading of the IASB Recommended Policies. Roll call vote was taken with all present voting yea. Motion carried.

At 9:46 a.m., Walker moved, seconded by Quick to go into executive session to discuss the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees and collective negotiations. Roll call vote was taken with all present voting yea. Motion carried.

At 11:00 a.m., Johhnson moved, seconded by Walker to return to regular session. Roll call vote was taken with all present voting yea. Motion carried.

Croy moved, seconded by Walker to approve the retirement of Linda Thacker, Educational Support Personnel, retroactive to August 6, 2021. Roll call vote was taken with Johnson, Quick, Patchett, Walker, Croy, Wyatt, and Hackney voting yea. Motion carried.

Johnson moved, seconded by Wyatt to approve the resignations of Whitney McDowell, Educational Support Personnel, retroactive to August 8, 2021; Gabrielle Lyell, Educational

P.O. BOX 185 STE. MARIE, IL 62459 618-455-3396 FAX 618-455-3134

Support Personnel, retroactive to August 10, 2021; and LeKendra Waxler, Educational Support Personnel, retroactive August 27, 2021. Roll call vote was taken with Johnson, Quick, Patchett, Walker, Croy, Wyatt, and Hackney voting yea. Motion carried.

Croy moved, seconded by Quick to employ Taylor Robinson, School Psychologist, retroactive for the 2021-2022 school year; Amanda Fleenor, Education Support Personnel, retroactive to August 13, 2021; Shelby Ray, Educational Support Personnel, retroactive to August 23, 2021; Denise Phillips, Education Support Personnel, retroactive to August 25, 2021; and Whitney Clark, Education Support Personnel, effective September 27, 2021. Roll call vote was taken with Johnson, Quick, Patchett, Walker, Croy, Wyatt, and Hackney voting yea. Motion carried.

Intermittent Family Medical Leave of Absence was acknowledged for Shanna Adkins, ECE Teacher, retroactive to August 13, 2021.

Johnson moved, seconded by Quick to approve the Board Certified Behavior Analyst (BCBA) Fellowship. Roll call was taken with all present voting yea. Motion carried.

Walker moved, seconded by Croy to approve the Submission of the FY 2022 Round 1 School Maintenance Project Grant Application. Roll call vote was taken with all present voting yea. Motion carried.

The Case Study Evaluation Report was reviewed.

District Contacts for SIS were distributed for updates.

There was a brief discussion regarding the SESE Overview meeting on November 3, 2021 at 6:00 p.m.

The Annual LEA Determination for 2019-2020 was reviewed.

Discussed scheduling a Strategic Planning Meeting for November.

Kessler recognized the following employees for their years of service to SESE:

5 Years

Suzy Dunahee - Richland MSI IV Teacher
Debra Hardig - Robinson ECE Paraprofessional
Amelia McPheron - Bridgeport ECE Paraprofessional
Shelly Seaman- Speech-Language Pathologist
April Volk - Richland MSI IV Paraprofessional
Erin Whisler- Clay City Autism I/II Teacher

10 Years

Morgan Fehrenbacher - Technical Assistance Supervisor Kylee Frichtl - Oblong ECE Teacher

Tricia Ohnesorge - Clay City Autism I/II Paraprofessional

15 Years

Danielle Fehrenbacher - Clay City ED Paraprofessional Jennifer Reynolds - Occupational Therapist

20 Years

Rita Ferguson - Oblong ECE Paraprofessional

25 Years

Maria Rayborn - School Psychologist

There being no further business, Croy moved, seconded by Walker to adjourn the meeting. Roll call vote was taken with all present voting yea. Motion carried. Time: 11:20 a.m.

eff Patchett, Chair

Renee Barthelme, Recording Secretary